Slow Roasted Pasta Salad or Camp Arrowhead

Oh Arrowhead I miss you!! It has been three days since we were together and I have felt desperate for you the whole time.  And I am counting the hours till we meet again.  My husband writes all day, I paint, hike with the dog, swim, yoga, cook (oh glorious cooking!) and apply for jobs.  It is perfection, even that last item is enjoyable in such a beautiful place.

I am actually starting to think I just might finish this painting, that is going on 11 months now. Oy. I still see so many layers to go…But let me get to the point.  I’d like to introduce to you the most adorable and AMAZING stove and oven I’ve ever cooked at.  The temperature control is unbelievable and I mean–come on, ADORABLE! Looking at this my mind just races through the meats to roast and the deserts to bake and OH Everything!  Can you tell I am excited?

So with this amazing stove the first thing I did was cook WAY WAY too much pasta at 8pm.  And then wondered what to do with all this wonderful, gee I gotta use this, pasta until I thought of this.  I’ve been hooked on slow roasted tomatoes for the last couple months, the incredible taste aside it makes the house smell unbelievably.  So I thought, why not slow roast everything?  This was the perfect dinner for a hot summer day. Warm  but not hot.  Flavorful and filling but not heavy.  We ate it greedily for days.  I would encourage you to cook way too much pasta TONIGHT and make this TOMORROW.

Slow Roasted Pasta

from making too much pasta the night before

1 pint cherry tomatoes

1 bunch swiss chard

1/4 lb bacon, reserve 1 tbsp of bacon fat from frying

4 cups pasta, any short/twirly variety

4 cloves garlic

small container of crumbled feta

rosemary

sea salt salt + pepper

extra virgin olive oil

The day before or anytime earlier really, make pasta.  Add 1 tbsp olive oil to the boiling water you use along with the salt, it will help the pasta not stick when it is done. Because it is a pasta salad, you can also skip this and rinse with coldest water when you pull the pasta to stop it cooking and keep it from sticking.  I prefer the olive oil method but sometimes do both.  The important thing is your pasta be chilled.

Preheat oven to 225.  Half tomatoes, place on baking sheet. Crack sea salt and pepper over top, go lightly.  Sprinkle with rosemary, drizzle with olive oil.  Crush cloves of garlic whole and place on baking sheet.  Bake for 2.5 hours. Remove stems of chard, slice up thinly and place on second baking sheet.  Crack sea salt and pepper over top, again lightly.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Place in the oven along with the tomatoes and continue cooking BOTH for 30 mins.  You can increase the time depending on your oven, tomatoes should have shrunk and juices pooled in the center and the chard should have shriveled.  While veggies are baking, chop up bacon into 1/2 inch chunks and fry.  When bacon is done, remove from heat and let drain on paper towel BUT  pour 1 tbsp of bacon fat over pasta.  TRUST ME.  It’s flavor and virtually your ONLY fat in this dish.  Add tomatoes, chard, feta and bacon to pasta.  Drizzle with a little more olive oil if you like.

Savor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Camp Arrowhead

Leave a Reply

