My Very Own Fridge Magic and Letter Art Mornings

On a day back from vacation, you hope not to spend the entire day cleaning the house.  But unfortunately you have a dog meant for far chillier temperatures who can do nothing but shed like a maniac in the heat of the California summer sun.  (A light breeze will send a cloud of hair wafting in the wind.)  You also dread going to the store because your legs are sore from walking urban hills and you have been in a car all day.  So you rummage in the fridge and to your utter surprise…you make something delicious from odds and ends.  Something so delicious you can’t wait to run out and get the ingredients on purpose to make it again ASAP.  Which you do, and serve to your husband after his long flight home.  And he loves it too.

I will have to geek out here.  We read The Hobbit on the drive back to Los Angeles and upon arriving home I had no other choice but to watch a Lord of the Rings marathon.  Hence, my brilliant naming of the sauce.  Bonus:  This can be made in under 30 mins.  Hello, weeknight.

The One Sauce

from desperation, makes 1 serving so multiply as needed

1 heirloom tomato

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 onion, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

Italian seasoning, few shakes

1 tbsp cream fraiche (or to your liking)

parmesan cheese, shaved or shredded

green peppercorn, cracked over top

In a small saucepan heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion, allow to brown and then add minced garlic.  When aroma has been released, hand smash and rip heirloom tomato into pan.  Add italian seasoning.  Allow to cook down and thicken, approximately 15 minutes (increase time if making more than one serving).  Remove from heat, add 1 tbsp cream fraiche.  I followed the linked recipe and made my own cream fraiche because to purchase it is ridiculously expensive.  It took my little jar over 72 hours to thicken but it was easy and delicious. Pour onto your favorite pasta, top with parmesan and cracked green pepper.  Gobble.

Note: After many failures, this was a surprise win! In fact I had to force myself to stop eating to take a picture to share this with you.  I was near the end before I was able to.  So good.

It has been so hot here in the month of July.  The best thing to do has been to open all the windows and write letters to friends.

I love letters.

All original works of art (c) 2011.

We are off to Lake Arrowhead or as I will be calling it Camp Arrowhead.  A dear family friend has lent us a cabin for my even dearer husband to use as a writing retreat.  So while he writes brilliantly, I will daringly attempt a number of epic recipes in a little cabin kitchen.  I am sure there will be mishaps a plenty and plenty of delicious.  Stay tuned…

1 Comment

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

One response to “My Very Own Fridge Magic and Letter Art Mornings

  1. Laura

    J’adore your artsy letters! More please!!!

Leave a Reply

