Resting On Your Laurels or The Best Damn Chocolate Chip Cookie

Two summers ago, the month of June was spent 16 hours a day every day with 40 people in our apartment.  There were lights, cameras, suicidal set pieces, frogs and action.  My husband directed and produced his first feature film, Disney Shot Kennedy.  I was a lead in a role he wrote for me after seeing me in a play 3 years prior, whis is also how we met.  Every actresses dream.  Many people came together to make the film happen and fill out the ensemble of smaller characters.  Among them was a dear Jade Riggin, who will be married in a few short and is my chocolate chip cookie goddess.  She might be my all baked goods goddess, brave enough to quit her job and bake.  On the few off hours that we had I baked.  I baked to relief the stress of the day, memorize my lines for the next morning and have a treat for the next day.  Some double chocolate cookies I baked made it into the movie for the Milk and Cookie Revolution scene.  But my baking took many a step up over the course of Jade’s brief visit for her shooting days. Jade informed me of such marvels as using a wooden spoon to mix, making a well of dry ingredients and pouring the wet in for better mixing, the importance of going slow, and she gave me the most amazing chocolate chip recipe.

Since then I’ve made these cookies a million ways.  All brown sugar, brown and white split.  Melted and softened butter.  Nuts and no Nuts. Dark Chocolate and Mixed Chocolate. I make these alot.  In fact everytime I find my husband overturning every box and jar in the kitchen, I make a batch. A double batch, and they are gone within 5 days.  We share, but it’s difficult.  Everyone has a BEST chocolate chip cookie.  (I don’t feel like a responsible adult without one.)  I think there are so many because it all depends on your taste.  I’ve riffed on Jade’s classic to suit the tastes of the Lawrences and not a friend has been able to turn it down.  For me a chocolate chip cookie has a crunch at the edges and melts in your mouth in the center.  There is plenty of chocolate but not so much that you don’t have bites of rich butterscotch hinted dough.  I like to use the darker bown sugar for this unique taste. And Sea Salt.  Delicious sea salt cracked fresh over the little things right before they go in the oven.  That is my favorite cookie, maybe it will be yours too.  I’ll be making some to celebrate Jade’s nuptuals from afar!  Congrats my dear!

Note:  This is an instance where I mixed sugar.

To do so use: 1 cup dark brown sugar & 1/2 cup white sugar.

Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Cookies

adapted from dear jade

What you need:

1 cup melted or softened butter
1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg, 1 egg yolk
1 tbs vanilla extract (I’m still hooked on the Vanilla Bean Paste! )
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp cracked sea salt
½ tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups dark chocolate, chopped

Cracked Sea Salt

What you need to do:

Cream butter and sugars. Add eggs and vanilla, mix until incorporated. Sift together the dry ingredients and add little by little to the wet ingredients until just mixed. Fold in chocolate chips with wooden spoon.  If using melted butter cookies are best when batter can rest, chilled and covered, for 24 hours.  If using softened allow batter to rest, chilled and covered for 30 mins to 1 hour. Use an ice cream scoop to scoop out golf ball sized spheres of dough. Place on parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Crack sea salt over the tops of all cookies.  Bake at 325° for 16-20 minutes on top and bottom racks.  Cool on cookie sheet for 5 mins, transfer to wire rack to completely cool.  Cookies are done when the edges look slightly golden brown, centers will be gooey but don’t overcook!  They will firm up as they cool.

Enjoy dears.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

Leave a Reply

