Your Mama’s Meatloaf, Better

HELLO STRANGER!  I’ve ignored you, I hope you’ll forgive me.  See I have been busy with my very last finals.  As of today there are 13 days till I graduate, but in between today and then I have four very intense finals.  I haven’t been around and I won’t be till then as much as the kitchen calls to me.  But oh!  The delicious things I have to share: fresh fruit leather, slow roasted lamb, strawberry rhubarb tart, sunshine muffins!  I can’t wait.  Here is a little something to tide you over…

What could possibly be more quintessential of domestic bliss than a good meatloaf.  It is definitive comfort food, your belly cant help but feel warm afterwards.  I wasn’t always of this opinion.  In fact I had never had meatloaf until two years ago at my now mother-in-laws, and I would never eat another.  I’ve researched other recipes, and they just don’t cut it. Trust me, this recipe has survived generations! Devour now.

David’s Grandmothers Meatloaf

What You Need:

Per meatloaf/per loaf pan. 

Meat Mix:

1 lb. ground chuck or ground round
1/2 lb. sausage
l lightly beaten egg
Loaf Mix:
1 c. milk
1/2 c. saltine cracker crumbs/croutons (put crackers in zip-lock sandwich bag and crush into approx 1/4″-1/2″ crumbs)
1 med white or yellow (Spanish) onion, chopped
1 Tbs. chopped green pepper
1 Tbs. horseradish
1 Tbs. ketchup
1 1/2 tsp. Nature’s Seasoning or 1/2 tsp. salt + 1/2 tsp. pepper + 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. Worchestershire Sauce
1 tsp. sugar
2 Tbs. Red Pepper Flakes
What You Need To Do:

Combine meat ingredients in a Stand Mixer or Hand Mixer.  Combine loaf ingredients in saucepan .  Stir well and bring to a simmer.  IMMEDIATELY remove from heat and add to meat mixture.  Bake in loaf pan @ 350 for 30 mins.  Drain any liquid from pan and return to oven for an additional 30 mins.  Drain any liquid from pan.  Top with “HOMADE CHILI SAUCE, (or a spicy chili based sauce of your choosing), sprinkle with Red Pepper Flakes  and return to oven for 20 additional minutes.  Let rest 10 mins.
before slicing. ENJOY!
Note: This can be frozen before it goes into the oven to use another date.
NOW THE BOOKS!
Leave a comment

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

Leave a Reply

