Spicy Chocolate Mousse for Company

I like to keep a well stocked pantry, or rather “a best as I can” stocked pantry because I believe at any given minute you should be able to whip up something sweet if say guests pop in for an hour or for the weekend.  Sweets just hit every spot even if you didn’t have an itch for anything, they are the ultimate comforter.  That said my mother in law was here this past weekend and we made some delicious food. (As soon as she gets back to me on some ingredient measurements I will share! ) But I was at a loss for dessert.  I haven’t kept my butter stocked because of my current gallstone drama so I was afraid I’d hit a dead end.  But then after some rummaging I found, chocolate, eggs, and spices.  Now I’ve never made chocolate mousse, but I did and it is a snap!  So you can too.

Spicy Chocolate Mousse

After researching some basics…from my head.

What you need:

1 egg yolk

2 egg whites

1/8 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup chocolate chips (Semi-sweet, bitter or dark will do depending on your taste)

1 tbps chile powder

2 tps cinnamon

2 tps brandy

What you need to do:

In a small skillet over low heat melt chocolate chips.  I added about a tablespoon of almond milk to help the chocolate melt evenly, you could use plain old cow juice or skip this step.  Add brandy, whisk to combine and remove from heat.  In a bowl combine chocolate mixture, egg yolk and sour cream. In a  separate bowl using a stand mixer or hand mixer beat egg whites till soft peaks form.  Gradually add sugar while beating another 3 minutes.  Fold egg whites into chocolate mixture gently till combined.  Cover with plastic wrap or a dishcloth and chill in fridge until ready to serve.  The longer it chills the better, mine was in for about an hour (the time it took to eat dinner) and was Mousserific!

It is really that simple, the sour cream gives it a bite and the spices lend it boldness and depth. Oh and brandy is delicious, so there. Serves 6 or 3 if you can’t help yourself from heaping its chocolatiness into HUGE glases to tantalize your guests 😉 Check your kitchen I bet you have everything you need to make this right now!  So do and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

Leave a Reply

