Double Dipped French Toast with Homemade Syrup or Our Hero In the Hospital

I make a damn fine french toast.  In fact, it’s the first thing I did well so I hold it close to my heart.  The first time I made it David and I, talked about opening a bed and breakfast the whole time we ate.  It’s wonderful when food makes you feel that daring and confident.  The idea of a restaurant still bounces around but we have other endeavors to accomplish first.

The best french toast comes from day old bread, so it holds up sitting in batter a bit.  Some people are married to a particular kind of bread and yesterday I used a popular choice – French Loaf.  But usually french toast gets made in my house with remnants of all the breads we’ve bought at the Farmer’s Market mixed together.  The variety on the plate makes it really really yummy, and I encourage you to mix it up.

The recipe got taken up a notch in my opinion when my dear friend Trevor visited recently and cooked French Toast.  After the batter he covered both sides of it with almonds.  It lent a sweet nutty crunch to the whole affair and I was hooked.  So since I’m generally always missing him, I thought I would incorporate it.  Homemade syrup arose out of necessity as we had run out of maple syrup, but I couldn’t be happier.  Cooking is a Science and an Art, and creativity blossoms under constraints when you have to think and invent.  Issac Asimov once said “Great discoveries are more often accompanied by ‘That’s Funny…’ than by ‘Eureka'”.  So I give you homemade syrup that funnily tastes exactly like maple if not BETTER.

French Toast and Homemade Syrup

What you need for French Toast:

1/3 cup of whole milk

2 large eggs

1 Tablespoons of sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon of sea salt

1 bag of sliced almonds

Bread of Choice or Mix

What you need for Syrup:

1/4 cup of granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon butter

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 cup of water

What you need to do for French Toast:

In a wide shallow plate or bowl scramble french toast ingredients, except almonds, together.  In a separate shallow plate or bowl pour almonds.  Dip thick sliced of bread, or whatever slice thickness you have if using a mix, into batter on both sides allowing it to soak a bit.  Transfer to almond bowl, flipping to cover both sides.  Heat a skillet on medium with a little butter, place toast in pan cooking on both sides till toast begins to brown.  For double dipped: Pull toast from pan, – in batter and almonds and place on pan again.  Cook both sides till golden brown.  Place in barely warm oven to retain heat while you double dip the rest of your toast.  Trust me, double dipping is the way to go!

What you need to do for the Homemade Syrup:

In a separate pan, combine syrup ingredients.  Over low heat whisk till ingredients are just combined.  Once ingredients are combined, raise temperature and boil for 3 mins.  Pull from heat and allow to rest for a few minutes.  Serve warm.

Of course you can follow all that delicious, with whipped cream and strawberries.  Rich dark coffee and sausage, my true love.  For this is the way to live truly decadently.

And end up in the hospital two hours later, and be told you had a gallstone attack.  In fact, to use a technical term you have ‘tons’ of gallstones.  Despite the fact that you are young, thin, active and have no family history of gallstones.  This will greatly amuse the doctors as they try and cheer you up with this silver lining.  Then they go on to tell you all the foods you should avoid over the next two weeks such as nuts, avocado, dairy, butter, candy, baked goods, things high in fat like oh I don’t know chinese takeout and pizza.  And you realize that you have eaten all of that in the last 24 hours, so perhaps you deserved it.  At the very least you said “Hey Gallbladder, let’s do this!” and let me tell you, your gallbladder is a worthy foe, do not make him mad.

But, I mean what a way to go eh?? The thing is despite the decadent meal above, a general rule of the recipes I present here I have scaled back the butter and sugar immensely from their source material.  Although I love delicious baked goods, I am not into being overpowered with the taste of sugar.  So I had thought I was fairly healthy, it just shows you never can tell.  It was super humbling to be reminded that everyone has a body.  So this post is a last most decadent hurrah, at least for two weeks. Hurrah!  For the next two weeks I will be cooking a little more inventively.  I think great things will come of it!  For this is the biggest constraint I have encountered yet, so my most creative endeavors should come!

Also my mother in law is here, so get ready for some Mim Recipes.


2 Comments

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

2 responses to “Double Dipped French Toast with Homemade Syrup or Our Hero In the Hospital

  1. Sorry you’re with gall stones 😦 That STINKS. Something I’ve been craving recently…but since I won’t buy meat I won’t be eating soon…is ham or prosciutto wrapped asparagus spears. Perhaps that will fit into your diet and you can enjoy it for me?? I would oven-roast the spears (tossed with salt and herbes de provence at 450 until they char a bit, and then wrap with ham, and re-heat just smidge to get the ham warmed. It IS asparagus season and it’s so delicious…oh I might need to buy some meat… I hope you feel better soon!!!!

Leave a Reply

