Lazy Sunday or Avec Amour De Ton Petite Fraise

And I do mean lazy.  Yes I have to leave for work in 5 mins, but we’ve been up since 7am.  The cottage is 70% windows which means the sun is our alarm clock everyday, pretty glorious.  And it’s one of the most glorious times of the year, strawberry season.  Incredible edible strawberry season.
Walking around the Santa Monica Farmer’s Market yesterday, I heard only their ruby siren call.  I bought two boxes with dreams of custard tarts, pies, compote, yummmm.  But in the end I couldn’t bring myself to mess with a good thing. Except for the whipped cream.
Oh yeah and Waffles.
But what’s a little whipped cream between friends? 😉
Fresh Lemon Spiked Whip Cream

What you need:

1/2 pint heavy whipping cream
1 tbsp granulated sugar
1/4 tsp lemon zest
Squeeze of a quarter lemon
What you need to do:

Pour cream in medium bowl, add zest, lemon juice add sugar.  Beat with a hand mixer till peaks form, about 2-5 mins.  (I tried for a minute by hand, stopped, blessed my great grandmothers forearms and put that electric mixer in.  Greater women than I.) Dip everything into it!!!
I know it’s not groundbreaking, but it’s simple and better than any cool whip/ready whip you could buy.  So just do it.  Love it.  And be lazy with me this Sunday.  You deserve it.
Avec Amour De Ton Petit Fraise
(With Love From Your Little Strawberry)
1 Comment

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

One response to “Lazy Sunday or Avec Amour De Ton Petite Fraise

  1. Pingback: Double Dipped French Toast and Homemade Syrup | The Cultivated Life

Leave a Reply

