Crockpot, I Love You

When my mother in law, Mim, was packing up our things she sent me excited messages that unpacking would be like Christmas as it had been so long since we had seen any of our belongings.  Well it was a heavy and seemingly endless Christmas but Christmas it was!  At least for me and my baking and cooking dreams.  Our kitchen went from survival to many pots and pans, endless large bowls (unfortunately more than a few have met their doom in our unforgiving sink we have nicknamed the widowmaker), pie pans, cake tins, and mixers oh my!  Among the presents was a crockpot, that initially got regulated to the bottom shelf of a bursting closet.  I still occasionally cover my head when opening the door for fear of the metal monsters with in…we’ll figure it out one day.  But then I was at the market and there was this beautiful big hunk of beef staring at me, baiting me with its sale sticker and I caved.  I had visions of tender meat falling apart in juicy layers with just the gentlest nudge of a fork.

 

So naturally I mined our respective mothers for their wisdom.  Their powers combined….

Pot Roast

With love from his Mim and my Mum.

What you will need:

2-3 lb beef roast (any kind will do really)

1 cup red wine (I used 2 buck chuck, from good old Joes)

4 cloves minced garlic

4 tbsp olive oil

Sea Salt and Pepper

2 bay leaves

2 sprigs rosemary, chopped

2 potatoes

2 onions

2 carrots

1 cup mushrooms

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What you need to do:

Rub meat down with sea salt, pepper and rosemary. In a skillet large enough to fit your roast, heat olive oil over medium high heat.  Add garlic and let it cook a little to release flavor. Brown meat on all sides, and I mean ALL sides even the awkward ‘top’ and ‘bottom’.  This will help it lock in moisture and flavour. Remove from heat.  Chop carrots, onions and potatoes into large chunks.  Place chopped veggies and mushrooms in the bottom of your crockpot.  Place beef roast on top.  Pour oil and juices from pan and 1 cup red wine over roast.  Add bay leaves.  Turn on low and cook for 9 hours.

So tender– Your knives will feel neglected.

I made this in the am before work, having planned on a dinner party with the talented Melissa Kosar (one badass girl making her way in the movie industry as a DP and Director, currently working on ABC’s The Middle), and came home to a happy hubby.  We rounded out the meal with  cream biscuits served with wild honey from the farmers market. I folded in some rosemary to the cream biscuit dough before baking, because we have a plant near by and I can’t resist a fresh herb.

In short, Crockpot, I love you. What will we do next?!

1 Comment

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

One response to “Crockpot, I Love You

  1. Pingback: Hash or Bragging | Red Bread

Leave a Reply

