Chocolate Chip Cookies in 3 Takes

This comes to you as an ode to my husband, who looks at me like I’ve lost my marbles if a baked good doesn’t involve chocolate.  The other day I told him I was craving chocolate and peanut butter fiercely and he welcomed me to his constant existence.  The thing is (don’t hate me!) I don’t like chocolate.  I know it is nuts, everybody loves chocolate and you mourn for those who are denied it’s goodness due to allergies.  But I just never took to it, preferring fruit and creamy themed desserts.  That was until I stumbled upon the most amazing chocolate to cook with and I have never looked back. Trader Joe’s Belgian Imported Brick Chocolate, oh man yum.  Yes!  Trader Joes, wonderful and affordable Joe stomps the Ghirardelli’s of the world in my opinion.  See it turns out that the secret to an ooey gooey die and go to heaven chocolate cookie is the quality of the chocolate.

So, take one!

Spicy Ginger Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Martha Stewart, makes 24 cookies.

What you will need:

3/4 cup chocolate chunks

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tbsp unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

8 tbsp (1 stick) of unsalted butter

1/4 cup unsulfured molasses

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed

What you need to do:

Line baking sheets with parchment paper, I like to reuse mine and love on Mother Earth. Chop chocolate into chunks; set aside. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, ground ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, baking soda and cocoa. In an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment or a hand beater, cream butter and sugar. The longer you allow it to cream the more air and lightness your cookie will have.  Add molasses; beat until combined. Slowly add flour mixture to butter mixture, allowing it to fully mix in on a low speed before adding more.  This agin will help with delicious fluff! Fold in chocolate chunks with whatever spoon you have, wooden or plastic.  Cover bowl and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, it helps to prevent spreading that happens when the butter melts before it cooks the dough. Form dough into the size of golf balls, roll in granulated sugar and place 2 inches apart on baking sheet.  Preheat oven to 325 and refrigerate dough for around 10 mins, just to get the warmth of you hands out of those suckers.  Bake until the surfaces crack slightly, 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool 5 minutes; transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. ENJOY!

Notes: I liked the butterscotch flavor using only brown sugar gave the cookies, but you can also a la Martha and do 1/4 granulated sugar and 1/2 brown sugar.  My dear friend Dan took one bite and exclaimed “These taste like Christmas!” You can try and wait till then, I dare you.

And Take Two!!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

This was the cookie that resulted from my craving, and general love of Oatmeal. Adapted from Jose and Dear Old Martha. Makes 3 dozen. Basically Jose didn’t have enough peanut butter, and Martha not enough oats.  So for killah cookies with both, try these!

What you need:

1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

1/6 cup whole wheat flour

1/2  tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp coarse cracked sea salt

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup (1 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup natural peanut butter

1 large egg

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 cup  chocolate chips

What you need to do:

In a medium bowl stir together oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl; set aside. Put sugars, butter, and peanut butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment or hand beater. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add egg and vanilla.  Reduce speed to low and add oat mixture, and mix until just combined. Preheat oven to 350. Fold in chocolate chips. Make golf ball sized balls of cookie dough and drop on prepared parchment papered baking sheets. Bake for 13-15 mins, remove and allow to cool for 5 mins on baking sheets as this will make it easier to pull them up.   Place on cooling rack to finish cooling.

Notes: Again I love the brown sugar over the sugar mix, but it’s your preference.  Martha says these will last for 2 days in an airtight container, but why would you not gobble or share them all way before that?!

And Take Three!!

Lavender Chocolate Chip Cookies

That’s right, do not be afraid of this sweet little flower.  Adapted from Lavender Wind Farms, but only slightly a I was hesitant too!

What you will need:

2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cracked sea salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 cups chocolate chips

2   tsp ground lavender (make sure it is the edible kind!)

What you need to do:

Mix flour, baking soda, lavender and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.  Cream butter and sugars in a stand mixer or with a hand beater.  Add eggs and vanilla till fluffy.  On low add the flour to the wet ingredients, adding only as much as will combine at a time.  Preheat oven to 375 and fold in chocolate chips.  Make golf ball sized balls and place 2 inches apart on prepared parchment lined baking sheets.  Bake for 12 mins.  Cool on baking sheet for 5 mins and then transfer to cooling racks or EAT!

Note: While good with milk, nothing did it justice like a morning cup of tea or coffee.  They have the wonderful effect of making you feel uplifted and at ease…oh!  And the house has never smelled so good, I can hardly keep my nose out of the cookie jar!

PHEW!  Maybe you are sick of chocolate now? I hope not because I have saved my two favorite recipes for another day.  😉 HAPPY BAKING!

One last note and a sort of confession:  I ALWAYS forgot to put the butter out to soften before I make cookies.  Previously I would recruit my helpers (read the lovely Liz O’Malley) to massage the butter, which generally led to cursing that would make a sailor proud, until I found this tip! Butter I’ve bested you!

Guaranteed outcome of making these cookies: HAPPY HUBBY And maybe some drooling friends 😉

4 Comments

Filed under Cottage Kitchen

4 responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies in 3 Takes

  1. Yum. Any tips on where to find edible lavender? I live in an area with a dearth of good resources (um, like no Trader Joe’s especially). :-/ I’m excited to try the lavender ones! Also. I appreciate your use of cursive on your headings 😀 Makes any teacher proud!

    • Tiffani!
      Edible lavender cna be found at whole foods, if that isn’t available I would hunt around neighborhood gardens or grow your own! A shop that has loose tea may also carry it. Really what you want to be careful of is anything that has been prepped for some other purpose, like perfume.

  2. Justin

    These cookies are totally awesome. I’m going to try to use the word ‘awesome’ as little as possible, but these cookies really do include all my favorite ingredients: cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, etc…all in perfect balance. Each flavor is balanced with the next, they don’t try to smother each other. I’m pretty sure it’s the brown sugar that makes these cookies so moist. I must admit that I personally rate a cookie by moistness primarily and taste secondarily, and these cookies are the moistest!
    So, moist, thick cookies that bring a team of subtle and cooperaative tastes are THE cookies to eat!

Leave a Reply

